[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Stylistic changes in playing the violin in the past 30 years.

A new standard has been set with the emergence of digital recording technologies. The demand for perfection is much higher than 50 years ago.

"As a consequence the violinist has to compete with his own recordings on CD. From historic research and from authentical sources we know much more about the way of performing music of the past. Modern compositions contain very detailed performance instructions, thus narrowing the liberty of interpretation to a high degree."

The scores of Bach contain very few dynamic and stylistic instructions. It is mostly up to the performer how to interprete a certain piece of music.
Contemporary music on the other hand is full of detailed and often compulsory instructions, turning the performer into a kind of "performing machine" of the musical score. This does not encourage creativity and the limitation of the possibilities of interpretation is problematic.

Great music schools in the world have established their system in the world market. According to them only three magical words are enough to promise an international career: "great tone", "rhythm" and "good promotion"

As a consequence of this practise we are facing an impoverishment of personal style of interpretation.

Europe is still setting standards for interpreting classical music based on tradition and heritage, effecting the worldwide style of performance. As examples we should mention Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Heinrich Schiff, Andras Schiff and Sir Elliot Gardiner, in addition to Italian conductors.

 
© Andromeda. Last modified: 02.24.2012

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Die Wandlung des Violinspieles in den letzten 30 Jahren:

Wir haben mit der Präzision der digitalen Welt auch am Konzertpodium einen neuen Interpretationsstandard geschaffen. Der Perfektionsanspruch ist dadurch wesentlich höher als vor 50 Jahren.

"Die Schattenseite dieser Entwicklung ist, daß der Geiger gegen seine eigenen CD-Aufnahmen anspielen muß. Die Forschung in historischen Quellen und alten Notentexten hat viele neue Erkenntnisse zutage gefördert. Die moderne Notenschrift hingegen wird immer genauer durch detaillierte Spielanweisungen. Durch all diese Faktoren wird der Spielraum der Interpretation immer weiter eingeengt."

Bei Bach finden sich selten dynamische Anweisungen, die Phrasierung ist dem Interpreten weitgehend überlassen. Eine moderne Partitur hingegen ist gespickt mit den verschiedensten Anweisungen, die zugleich zu erfüllen sind. Der Solist wird so zur Ausübungsmaschine der Partitur. Dies fördert sicher nicht die Kreativität des Interpreten und die Einschränkung seines Gestaltungspotentials wird dadurch problematisch.

"Einige große Violinschulen der Welt haben ihr System sehr gut in den Musikmarkt einbringen können. Dadurch wird erreicht, daß sich mit den drei Zauberwörtern "Großer Ton", "Rhythmus" und "Gute Promotion" bereits ein Karriereversprechen einlösen läßt."

Als Folge dieser Entwicklung beobachten wir eine Verarmung des persönlichen Interpretationsstiles. Nach wie vor setzt Europa durch seine Tradition und die Geschichte der Interpretation klassischer Musik Maßstäbe und davon gehen wesentliche Impulse aus.
Beispielhaft wären hier zu nennen Harnoncourt, Heinrich Schiff, Andras Schiff und Gardiner, aber auch italienische Dirigenten.

 
© Andromeda. Letzte Änderung am: 24.02.2012